Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

National Honor Society (NHS)


What is it?: National Honor Society recognizes students with exemplary scholarship, character, leadership and service. Members of NHS are allowed to wear a gold tassel at graduation. Every year a NHS senior is chosen to receive the NHS Scholarship funded by our members.


Faculty Advisor: Mrs. Daniele Franklin (B-4)


Activities: Every year, members are required to participate in the NHS Service Project (Hat and Glove Drive), attend a minimum of 2 meetings per semester (4 meetings per school year) and complete a minimum of 3 service hours.


Who can join?: 10th, 11th & 12th graders who meet the eligibility requirements


Meeting dates: 


Dues: Dues are $20.00 per year. 



-Applicants must fill out an application form and have three recommendation forms completed by teachers/coaches.


The following are requirements for election and continued membership in National Honor Society.


Tenth and eleventh grade students must be;

1. Exemplifying outstanding characteristics in leadership, service, scholarship & character

2. Taking a minimum of one class of English, math, science, & social studies each year

3. Taking a minimum of four core classes each year, with one of the four being an Advanced Content class

4. Maintaining an overall 92 un-weighted average each year

5. Attend at least 2 club meetings each semester (total of 4 per year), pay dues of $20, participate in the annual

   NHS service project, and obtain a minimum of 3 service hours.


Twelfth grade students must be:

6. Complying with 1 and 5 above;

7. Taking a minimum of three classes in English, math, science, and/or social studies; with one of the three

    being an Advanced Content Class or Dual Enrollment

8. Taking a minimum of 3 core classes.


2018-19 NHS Officers




Elbert County Comprehensive High School  |  600 Abernathy Circle  |  Elberton, GA 30635
Phone:706.213.4100  |  Fax:706.283.1183