Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

REACH Georgia Signing Day at ECMS

Congratulations to ECMS eighth graders Austin Bruce, Jamil Burton, Katie Hobbs, and Connie Lampkin for becoming REACH scholars on Wednesday, October 11. In the ECMS Auditorium, these four students and their parents signed REACH Scholarship Agreements in front of their eighth grade classmates, teachers, administrators, and several distinguished guests. Guests in attendance to celebrate the signing day included School Superintendent Chuck Bell, State Representative Tom McCall, Board of Education Chairman Ben Baker, Elberton Mayor Tommy Guest, REACH Georgia Vice President Brad Bryant, ECCHS Assistant Principal Kim Fuller, and ECCHS Graduation Coach Rhonda Driver.  



The REACH (Realizing Educational Achievement Can Happen) scholarships and mentorship program begins in the 8th grade and is a key program of Governor Deal’s Complete College Georgia Initiative. REACH Scholars are paired with a mentor and academic coach throughout their eighth grade year and then through their high school years. Scholars must maintain good grades, behavior, and attendance through middle school and high school. Those who successfully complete the program and graduate from high school are awarded a $10,000 scholarship ($2,500/year) that can be used at any HOPE-eligible two- or four-year institution in Georgia.


REACH Georgia serves 103 school systems across Georgia and nearly 1,200 Scholars, committing over $17 million in scholarships. The Elbert County School District is proud to be a part of this highly successful scholarship program.



Back to School News      Print News Article
Elbert County School District  |  50 Laurel Drive  |  Elberton, GA 30635