Alert: All Elbert County Schools are closed from Monday, Nov. 20 through Friday, Nov. 24 for Thanksgiving Break. Schools will reopen for students on Monday, Nov. 27. Have a safe and enjoyable break!
Close alert
Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Our Vision...






News & Announcements

Fall Sports Banquet is Dec. 11th Fall Sports Banquet

The 2017-18 Fall Sports Banquet is scheduled for Monday, December 11th. The banquet will be at the First Baptist ROC Building, beginning at 6:15 p.m. Sports to be recognized are Cross Country, Football, Varsity and Jr. Varsity Cheerleading, Softball and One Act. All Athletes will be admitted free. Please see your coach for your ticket. Tickets for all others are $8.00 and are on sale in the Athletic Office beginning November 27th. LAST DAY to purchase tickets is Friday December 8th. Dress Code is expected to be followed.

Lady Devils Named to All-Region! 2017 All-Region Softball

Five members of the Lady Devils softball team were selected to the 2017 8-AA All-Region team. Sydney Blackmon, Madelyn Libby, and Emily Starrett were all named First Team All-Region. Baylie Bialis and Allie Dunn were each named Honorable Mention. All were chosen due to their outstanding effort they put forth this season.

Way to go, Ladies! We are so proud of you!

School Nominees for 2018 Georgia Governor’s Honors Program GHPNominees17-18

Congratulations to the following students who have been selected as this year’s school nominees for the 2018 Georgia Governor’s Honors Program. Our school nominees are:

Spencer Daughtry in Music. Spencer’s instrument is the trombone, and his sub-area is Brass. Spencer is the son of Bill and Ladonna Daughtry.
Kaden Smith in Music. Kaden’s instrument is drums, and his sub-area is Jazz. Kaden is the son of Larry and Allison Smith.

These students will now move on to the state level competition, where they will submit a written application. If chosen as a semifinalist, they will participate in a statewide interview. If chosen as a GHP finalist, they will spend 4 weeks at Berry College this summer in their chosen area. Congratulations to these 2 students and best of luck to them in their application process!

Ash Bennett - 2018 HOBY Ambassador! Ash Bennett--HOBY2018

Congratulations to sophomore Ashford Bennett who has been selected as Elbert County’s HOBY Ambassador for 2018! The Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership (HOBY) Seminars are held each spring around the country and is the nation’s only program exclusively designed for high school sophomores. At ECCHS, students are selected based on a written application and teacher recommendations, and must demonstrate potential leadership ability. Ashford will attend a weekend seminar in June at Agnes Scott College in Decatur, GA with other students from all over the state. He is the son of Janna and Shayne Bennett. Congratulations, Ash!

Our 2018 Senior Superlatives! 2018 Senior Superlatives

Congratulations to the following students who have been selected as Senior Superlatives for the class of 2018! In alphabetical order, this year’s Senior Superlatives are: ...

Congrats to Maddy Libby! MaddyLibby_SoftballScholarship

Congratulations to Blue Devil Senior Madelyn Libby for signing today with Augusta University to be a member of their 2018-19 AU Jaguars Softball Team! Pictured with Madelyn are her parents, Marc & Suzanne Libby; ECCHS Principal Jason Kouns; ECCHS Head Softball Coach Cherish Ingram; ECCHS Athletic Director Sid Fritts; and ECCHS Asst. Principal Brian Turner. To learn more about Madelyn’s new team, click on the following link:

Congratulations, Maddy! We're so proud of you!

Welcome to ECCHS, Mrs. Duncan! ChristiDuncan

Christi Duncan, ECCHS alumni, has been named as the new GVRA Career Specialist for Elbert County. Mrs. Duncan will also be working closely with ECCHS Social Worker Wausheka McClary and CTAE/AP Kim Fuller and with students in the Blue Devil 101 program in providing individual support. We want to extend a big Blue Devil welcome to Mrs. Duncan!

Our 2017 Hart EMC Bright Ideas Grant Winners! BrightIdeasWinners

Congratulations to Constance Reid, James Gordon, Deana Crook, and LeeAnne Cordell who were all chosen for their Hart EMC Bright Ideas Grant applications this year! These four teachers will each receive their requested grant amount to purchase items for the instructional project they described. The total received from Hart EMC was $2095 for the school. Thanks to each teacher who took the time to submit the application. We are definitely appreciative of Hart EMC for their support and generosity towards our school and the education of our students!

Abbegale McDowell - JROTC COTM - Nov. 2017 AbbegaleMcDowell

Congratulations to Cadet PFC Abbegale McDowell for being named the Cadet of the Month for November 2017 by the JROTC Dept! Read more about Abbegale here:

Hannah Estep - November 2017 Career Pathway SOTM HannahEstep

Congratulations to Hannah Estep for being named the Career Pathway Student of the Month for November 2017! Read more about Hannah here:

Abigail Rushing - Nov. PE SOTM AbigailRushing

Congratulations to Abigail Rushing! Abigail was selected by Coach Reuben Haynes from Health & Personal Fitness class as the PE Student of the Month for November 2017! Read more about this award here:

Myiah Davis - Nov. 2017 Academic SOTM (SS!) MyiahDavis

Congratulations to Myiah Davis for being named the ECCHS Academic Student of the Month by the SS Dept. for November 2017! Read more about Myiah here:

2017-18 FACE Opportunities FACE

As Family and Community Engagement (FACE) is one of our four MAJOR Campus Improvement Categories, we have now set several stakeholder involvement events in place. We invite everyone to put these events on your calendar now, and come join us then! We’ll be posting more specifics about each event closer to its date.

Semester 1-

Monday, November 13, 2017 @ 6:00 PM
Math/ELA/Foreign Language Curriculum Night 

Thursday, November 16, 2017 @ 6:00 PM
Principal/Parent Open Forum

Semester 2-

Thursday, February 22, 2018 @ 6:00 PM
Science/Social Studies/CTAE/Fine Arts Curriculum Night

Monday, March 19, 2018 @ 6:00 PM
Principal/Parent Open Forum

Statement of Nondiscrimination

As required by Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Elbert County School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability in admission to its programs, services, or activities, in access to them in treatment of individuals, or in any aspect of their operations and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups.


Elbert County’s Career and Technical Education department follows the system’s policies of non-discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, age, and disability in all programs, services, activities, and employment. In addition, arrangement can be made to ensure that the lack of English language proficiency is not a barrier to admission or participation.


Inquiries regarding non-discrimination policies should be directed to Mr. Jon Jarvis, Title IX, Title VI, Section 504, and ADA Coordinator. For general information regarding the CTAE programs, contact Kim Fuller, CTAE Director.

View All News


<Go to previous monthNovember>Go to next month


Daily Buzz






Elbert County Comprehensive High School  |  600 Abernathy Circle  |  Elberton, GA 30635
Phone:706.213.4100  |  Fax:706.283.1183