Return to Headlines

Congratulations to Our Teachers of the Year

Congratulations to each of our school district’s 2019-2020 Teachers of the Year.  The winners were announced at the Board of Education’s October 21st regular meeting.  The Teachers of the Year are: 

  • Stephanie Almond – Paul J. Blackwell Learning Center
  • Sarah Rice – Elbert County Primary School
  • Melanie Berryman – Elbert County Elementary School
  • Crystal Whitmire – Elbert County Middle School
  • Kachina Rucker – Elbert County Comprehensive High School

After each school principal introduced their Teacher of the Year, Board Chairman Ben Baker announced that ECCHS Teacher of the Year, Kachina Rucker had been selected as the 2019-2020 District Teacher of the Year.  Ms. Rucker will serve as Elbert County’s nominee in the State Teacher of the Year Program.  A reception was then held to honor each of the 2019-2020 Teachers of the Year.

With an overflow crowd of teachers, staff, families, and others in attendance at the meeting, Superintendent Chuck Bell said, “The October board meeting is always a special time in which we honor Teachers of the Year.  Each of these teachers exhibits a commitment to excellence and a passion for teaching that is clearly evident in all aspects of their work.  The selection of our District Teacher of the Year is a rigorous process, and we are excited to know that Kachina Rucker will ably represent all the teachers of our school district.” 

Thank you to each of the Teachers of the Year for your commitment to the success of our students and the entire Elbert County school community.

Kachina Rucker - ECCHS C. Whitmire - ECMS

M. Berryman - ECES

 srice salmond